{ Cupcake Day @ Work } February Edition

Well, it’s that time again. Cupcake day at the workplace! Being that it’s February and Valentine’s Day, how could I not do Red Velvet? This month’s cupcake was not without it’s issues though.

This was the first time I had ever made red velvet from scratch, and they’re not kidding, there’s a LOT of red dye going into this batter, so much, that I ran out, but enough to give a red hue.  Although I’m happy that I only got powdered sugar and flour all over the kitchen, and not red dye! Oh, also, the recipe said it made 12 cupcakes, baloney, it made about double that, and considering I doubled the recipe, I ended up with about 50 frickin cupcakes! Guess no one was going without this month!

I had also been wanting to try fondant for a while, so why not now? All I ever heard about fondant was that it tasted terrible, but looks great. After lots of googling, I came across several options like marzipan, almond paste, gum paste, fondant, and the decided experiment…. marshmallow fondant! How could I go wrong?! Using this recipe { marshmallow fondant } with an additional teaspoon of my favorite extract, almond, and voila! Awesome tasting fondant! Although I’ve never actually covered a cake in this particular type of fondant, I’m sure it would work fine, but that’s for another time.

Next, the frosting. I’ll just tell you now, I watch Giada a lot, and she’s a huge fan of the sweet Italian cream cheese by the name of Mascarpone. So I decided to channel my inner italian and go for a mascarpone frosting instead of the traditional, and oh so yummy, cream cheese frosting. Fast forward a couple hours, and a big heck no. It’s not that it tasted bad, but it was just like, heavy whipped cream topping, and it just wasn’t working for me. So I left about 12 cupcakes with that frosting so it all didn’t go to waste, but it was back to the trusty American cream cheese for me! But that would have to wait for the morning, as it was 2am and I was beat.

Circa 7am. Time for cream cheese frosting. Going great, until I ran out about 9 cupcakes short of done! Luckily, my couponing has provided me with spare cream cheese!! and butter!! and powdered sugar!! Oh happy day. Oh crap, only fat free cream cheese in stock, but that should’ve been fine, right?! No.

NOTE: Fat free cream cheese to powdered sugar ratio NOT the same as fat full cream cheese, haha. See Exhibit A below.

Anyways, in the end, the cupcakes were tasty and a success!

One thought on “{ Cupcake Day @ Work } February Edition

Leave a Reply

